francais

2010 High School / CEGEP Teaching Award Winners

The CAP and its award partners - TRIUMF, Merlan Scientific, Perimeter Institute, BC Innovation Council (for BC region), Nelson Education, Vernier, and the Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of BC - are pleased to announce the recipients of the 2010 CAP High School/CEGEP Teaching Award Winners. Recipients will be presented with their awards at either their school or the CAP Congress, as coordinated with the recipient and school.
HS-BC-YK view medal information back to top

The 2010 CAP Award for Excellence in Teaching High School/CEGEP Physics (British Columbia and Yukon) is awarded to

Mr. Philip Freeman, Richmond Secondary School (Richmond, BC), for his efforts over the course of his twenty years as a high school physics teacher. Mr Freeman has taught a wide variety of physics math and philosophy courses and inspired thousands of students with his curiosity about the natural world and his passion for the paradigms of physics. His students have excelled in contests, in post-secondary studies and in their careers and many recognize Mr Freeman as a teacher that sowed seeds of curiosity and cultivated habits of inquiry that ultimately contributed significantly to their development as thinkers, professionals and citizens. A long-time member of the BC Association of Physics Teachers, Mr Freeman is as committed to communicating the beauty of physics to his peers as he is to his students. He is a frequent workshop presentater, a writer/editor with the TRIUMF Outreach video series and has been a mentor for many new teachers over the course of his career. The CAP would like to acknowledge his significant contributions to physics education in British Columbia by presenting Mr Freeman with the first ever CAP High school Physics Teacher Award for the BC region.

view the press release
HS-Prairies-NWT view medal information back to top

The 2010 CAP Award for Excellence in Teaching High School/CEGEP Physics (Prairies and Northwest Territories) is awarded to

Mr. Barry Edgar, Strathcona High School (Edmonton, AB), for his passionate, childlike excitement about communicating physics to students and his breadth of knowledge about the relevance of physics and its impact on society. His many accomplishments include the development of the Physics curriculum in the Advanced Placement program, producing distance education modules, appearing on educational television to teach science, writer of science textbooks, his leadership in the Fluid Power Challenge and Edmonton Science Olympics, his invited presentations at the Alberta Teacher's Association conferences, his mentoring of beginning physics teachers, and his ability to mesmerize students about physics. He is able to coordinate several different classroom learning styles simultaneously, letting as many as 120 students per day choose their own personal style of learning and then ensuring that they accomplish the goals within their chosen style. That so many students return to his school to let him know how he inspired them is a fitting testimony to one of Canada's outstanding physics teachers.

view the press release
HS-ON view medal information back to top

The 2010 CAP Award for Excellence in Teaching High School/CEGEP Physics (Ontario) is awarded to

Ms. Roberta Tevlin, Danforth Collegiate & Technical Institute (Toronto, ON), for her work as a pioneer in innovative teaching methods in physics that have influenced not only the students she interacts with year after year, but also many physics teachers in the Ontario region and beyond. For students she will provide "hands-on" learning experiences in physics that include devising ways of getting an LP record to move down a corridor at maximal speed and modelling a quantum eraser. For teachers she has given numerous presentations at workshops that have encouraged them to move from a passive teacher-centred approach to an active student-centred one. She has shown outstanding leadership in organizing science fairs, mentoring teachers, running physics camps, speaking at teacher workshops, and writing journal articles about physics teaching. Her tireless energy and innovative pedagogical approach to physics teaching make her a worthy recipient of the CAP High School/CEGEP Physics Teacher Award.

view the press release
HS-Atlantic view medal information back to top

The 2010 CAP Award for Excellence in Teaching High School/CEGEP Physics (Atlantic) is awarded to

Ms. Robyn McKenzie, Yarmouth Consolidated Memorial High School (Yarmouth, NS), for her ongoing excellence in teaching physics. A disproportionate number of physics graduate students, at places like MIT and Oxford, come from Yarmouth, NS. Those students identify a caring, passionate and effective high school physics teacher, Ms. Robyn McKenzie, as playing a pivotal role in their academic careers. As one former student wrote "She is nothing less than amazing". Colleagues mention her spirit and quiet leadership, and her constant quest to help others. Her principal wrote "She demands the best from her students, but she gives the best in return." Robyn has given countless weekend and night time hours to mentoring the school's award winning robotics teams. Even the Nova Scotia legislature cited her for "inspiring her students". It is certainly fitting that Robyn McKenzie is the first recipient of the CAP Award for Excellence in Teaching High School/CEGEP Physics from the Atlantic Region.

view the press release
HS-QC-NU view medal information back to top

The 2010 CAP Award for Excellence in Teaching High School/CEGEP Physics (Quebec and Nunavut) is awarded to

Dr. Nathaniel Lasry, John Abbott College (Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue, QC), who for many years has been actively using and promoting innovative pedagogical tools in teaching physics in Québec and even beyond. Few professors can boast about being compared favourably to Richard Feynman for the ease and ability to present difficult concepts clearly. That is nevertheless the case with Nathaniel Lasry who obviously loves his profession and who communicates his passion through his presentations, his teaching and his interactions with teachers and students. Being exceptionally competent both in physics and in education, his accomplishments are remarkably varied, ranging from the creation of banks of problem situations to demonstrations of magic, in addition to research and the promotion of learning through peers. It is with pleasure that the Canadian Association of Physicists makes Mr. Nathaniel Lasry the first Québec recipient of the Award for Excellence in Teaching High School/CEGEP Physics..

view the press release

english

Récipiendaires des Prix de l'ACP en enseignement au secondaire 2010

L'Association canadienne des physiciens et physiciennes (ACP) et ses partenaires - TRIUMF, Merlan Scientific, Perimeter Institute, BC Innovation Council (pour la région BC), Nelson Education, Vernier, et les ingénieurs et des géoscientifiques de la Colombie-Britannique - sont heureuse d'annoncer les noms des lauréats des Prix ACP d'excellence en enseignement de la physique au secondaire et au collégial. Les lauréats recevrons leurs prix soit à leurs école ou au congrès de l'ACP.
HS-BC-YK voir détails de la médaille retour au début

Le Prix ACP d'excellence en enseignement de la physique au secondaire et au collégial (Colombie-Britannique et Yukon) 2010 est décerné à

Mr. Philip Freeman, Richmond Secondary School (Richmond, BC), pour ses efforts de vingt années d’enseignement de la physique au niveau secondaire. M. Freeman a enseigné une grande variété de cours en physique, mathématique et philosophie, et sa curiosité au sujet de la nature et sa passion pour les paradigmes de la physique ont inspiré des milliers d’étudiants. Ceux-ci ont excellé dans les concours, les études postsecondaires et leurs carrières et nombre d’entre eux voient en M. Freeman un enseignant qui a semé la curiosité et cultivé leurs habitudes de quête qui ont contribué sensiblement, en définitive, à faire d’eux des penseurs, des professionnels et des citoyens. M. Freeman, membre de longue date de la BC Association of Physics Teachers, a à cœur de communiquer la beauté de la physique tant à ses pairs qu’à ses étudiants. Il anime souvent des ateliers et contribue à titre d’auteur/réviseur de la série vidéo de sensibilisation de TRIUMF. De plus, il a été le mentor de nombreux enseignants débutants au cours de sa carrière. L’ACP tient à saluer l’apport important de M. Freeman à l’enseignement de la physique en Colombie-Britannique en lui remettant le tout premier Prix ACP en enseignement de la physique au secondaire dans la région de la C.-B..

voir le communiqué de presse
HS-Prairies-NWT voir détails de la médaille retour au début

Le Prix ACP d'excellence en enseignement de la physique au secondaire et au collégial (Prairies et Territoires du Nord-Ouest) 2010 est décerné à

Mr. Barry Edgar, Strathcona High School (Edmonton, AB), pour son enthousiasme juvénile passionné à faire connaître la physique aux étudiants et pour l’étendue de son savoir sur la pertinence de la physique et son impact sur la société. Parmi ses nombreuses réalisations figurent l’élaboration du curriculum de physique pour le programme d’équivalence de cours, la création de modules d’enseignement de la physique à distance, l’enseignement des sciences à la télévision éducative, la rédaction de manuels de science, son leadership dans le défi de l’énergie hydraulique et les Olympiades des sciences d’Edmonton, ses exposés à titre de conférencier invité par l’Alberta Teacher’s Association, son mentorat auprès de professeurs de physique débutants et sa capacité de fasciner les étudiants par la physique. Il peut coordonner en même temps les styles d’apprentissage différents de plusieurs classes, permettant chaque jour à 120 étudiants à la fois de choisir leur propre style d’apprentissage et veillant ensuite à ce qu’ils atteignent les objectifs suivant le style qu’ils ont adopté. Que les étudiants reviennent si nombreux à son école pour lui dire à quel point il les a inspirés est un témoignage éloquent à l’endroit d’un professeur de physique remarquable au Canada..

voir le communiqué de presse
HS-ON voir détails de la médaille retour au début

Le Prix ACP d'excellence en enseignement de la physique au secondaire et au collégial (Ontario) 2010 est décerné à

Ms. Roberta Tevlin, Danforth Collegiate & Technical Institute (Toronto, ON), pour ses travaux de pionnière en méthodes novatrices d’enseignement de la physique qui ont exercé une influence non seulement sur les étudiants auprès desquels elle interagit d’année en année, mais aussi sur les nombreux professeurs de physique de la région de l’Ontario et au-delà. Aux étudiants, elle procure des expériences pratiques d’apprentissage en physique incluant la recherche des moyens de faire franchir un corridor à vitesse maximale à un disque 33 tours et la modélisation d’un effaceur quantique. Aux enseignants, elle a donné de nombreux exposés à des ateliers, les encourageant à passer d’une approche passive axée sur eux-mêmes à une approche active axée sur les étudiants. Elle a fait preuve d’un leadership extraordinaire à organiser des expo-sciences, à exercer un mentorat auprès d’enseignants, à diriger des camps de physique, à donner des conférences lors d’ateliers d’enseignants et à signer des articles de revue sur l’enseignement de la physique. Son énergie sans borne et son approche pédagogique novatrice à l’enseignement de la physique font d’elle une digne lauréate du Prix ACP en enseignement de la physique au secondaire et au collégial..

voir le communiqué de presse
HS-Atlantic voir détails de la médaille retour au début

Le Prix ACP d'excellence en enseignement de la physique au secondaire et au collégial (Atlantique) 2010 est décerné à

Ms. Robyn McKenzie, Yarmouth Consolidated Memorial High School (Yarmouth, NS), pour son excellence continue en enseignement de la physique. Un nombre démesuré d’étudiants des cycles supérieurs en physique, dans des établissements tels MIT et Oxford, viennent de Yarmouth, N.-É. Selon eux, un professeur de physique au secondaire, à la fois attentionné, passionné et efficace, Mme Robyn McKenzie, a joué un rôle central dans leurs carrières universitaires. Comme l’écrivait un ancien étudiant : « elle est tout simplement sensationnelle ». Ses collègues font état de son cran, de son leadership discret et de ses efforts constants à aider les autres. Son directeur d’école écrivait à son sujet : « elle exige le maximum de ses étudiants, mais elle fait de son mieux en retour ». Robyn a exercé son mentorat pendant d’innombrables heures, en fin de semaine et en soirée, auprès des équipes de robotique lauréates de son école. Même l’Assemblée législative de la Nouvelle-Écosse a affirmé à son sujet qu’elle « inspirait ses étudiants ». Il est juste, à coup sûr, que Robyn McKenzie soit la première lauréate du Prix ACP d’excellence en enseignement de la physique au secondaire et au collégial dans la région de l’Atlantique..

voir le communiqué de presse
HS-QC-NU voir détails de la médaille retour au début

Le Prix ACP d'excellence en enseignement de la physique au secondaire et au collégial (Québec et Nunavut) 2010 est décerné à

Dr. Nathaniel Lasry, John Abbott College (Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue, QC), qui depuis plusieurs années, s’active à utiliser et à faire la promotion d’outils pédagogiques innovateurs en enseignement de la physique au Québec et même au-delà. Peu de professeurs peuvent se targuer d’être comparés favorablement à Richard Feynman pour l'aisance et la facilité à présenter clairement des concepts difficiles. C’est pourtant le cas de Nathaniel Lasry qui aime visiblement son métier et qui communique sa passion à travers ses présentations, son enseignement et ses interactions avec les enseignants et les étudiants. Particulièrement compétent tant en physique qu’en éducation, ses réalisations sont remarquablement variées, allant de banques de situations problèmes à des démonstrations de magie en passant par la recherche et la promotion de l’apprentissage par les pairs. C’est avec plaisir que l’association canadienne des physiciens et physiciennes fait de M. Nathaniel Lasry le premier récipiendaire québécois du prix d’excellence en enseignement de la physique au secondaire et au collégial..

voir le communiqué de presse