francais

2021 CAP Medal and Award Winners

The Canadian Association of Physicists (CAP) and its medal partners are pleased to announce the recipients of the 2021 CAP medals. A series of virtual plenary medal talks to honour the 2021 medal recipients will be organized on Dec. 17 and 20. Once finalized, the detailed talk schedule will be posted on the CAP's website and a NewsFlash will be released. The medals will be forwarded to all recipients with the congratulations of the community.
CRM view medal information back to top

The 2021 CAP-CRM Prize in Theoretical and Mathematical Physics is awarded to

Prof. Robert Raussendorf, University of British Columbia, to recognize his eminent contributions to the theory of quantum computing, including groundbreaking work on measurement-based or "one way" quantum computing, fault-tolerant quantum computing, and computationally universal quantum phases of matter.

view the press release
Kirkby view medal information back to top

The 2021 CAP-COMP Peter Kirkby Memorial Medal for Outstanding Service to Canadian Physics is awarded to

Prof. Henry M. Van Driel, University of Toronto, to recognize his outstanding service to the Canadian physics community over a period of more than forty-five years, which has included international efforts, great service to the CAP, work with NSERC on behalf of Canadian physics, and editorial service to distinguished journals in North America.

view the press release
Industrial view medal information back to top

The 2021 CAP Medal for Outstanding Achievement in Industrial and Applied Physics is awarded to

Dr. Vincent Tabard-Cossa, University of Ottawa, to recognize his innovative contribution to Physics by developing a new nanopore fabrication technique. Nanopores can electrically detect individual molecules like DNA and proteins and are finding applications in next generation diagnostics, sequencing, and data storage devices. Dr. Tabard-Cossa's ground-breaking controlled breakdown method of nanopore fabrication simplifies and replaces a previously cumbersome and expensive process, enabling scalable, low-cost fabrication of solid-state nanopores at sub-nanometer scale.

view the press release
Brockhouse view medal information back to top

The 2021 CAP/DCMMP Brockhouse Medal is awarded to

Prof. Roger Melko, University of Waterloo / Perimeter Institute, to recognize his work on the theoretical understanding of many-body quantum systems through large-scale computer simulations. The theoretical tools developed by Dr. Melko’s group provide a new perspective on understanding of quantum condensed matter and have proven highly influential in areas such as quantum information, field theory, cold atomic matter, and artificial intelligence.

view the press release
Teaching view medal information back to top

The 2021 CAP Medal for Excellence in Teaching Undergraduate Physics is awarded to

Dr. Richard James Epp, University of Waterloo, to recognize his accomplishments in teaching and commitment to physics outreach. He consistently receives high teaching evaluations from majors and non-majors alike, and students commended his "Thinking Like a Physicist" series that replaced informal interactions during the pandemic lockdown.

view the press release
Herzberg view medal information back to top

The 2021 CAP Herzberg Medal is awarded to

Prof. Simon Caron-Huot, McGill University, to recognize his creation and development of nonperturbative techniques in conformal field theory, thereby opening the way to broad-ranging applications from particle physics to condensed matter physics.

view the press release
Achievement view medal information back to top

The 2021 CAP Medal for Lifetime Achievement in Physics is awarded to

Robert Brandenberger, McGill University, to recognize his coupling of ground-breaking developments in theoretical cosmology with recent dramatic advances in observational astronomy of the early universe.

view the press release
Vogt view medal information back to top

The 2021 CAP-TRIUMF Vogt Medal for Contributions to Subatomic Physics is awarded to

Prof. Sangyong Jeon, McGill University, to recognize his contributions to the theory of relativistic heavy-ion collisions and of the resulting quark-gluon plasma.

view the press release

english

Récipiendaires des médailles de l'ACP 2021

L'Association canadienne des physiciens et physiciennes (ACP) et ses partenaires sont heureux d'annoncer les noms des lauréats de leurs médailles pour 2021. Une série de conférences plénières virtuelles en l'honneur des lauréats des médailles 2021 sera organisée les 17 et 20 décembre. Une fois finalisé, le programme détaillé des conférences sera publié sur le site Web de l'ACP et un Flash d'Info sera diffusé. Les médailles seront envoyées à tous les récipiendaires avec les félicitations de la communauté.
CRM voir détails de la médaille retour au début

Le Prix ACP-CRM de physique théorique et mathématique 2021 est décerné à

Prof. Robert Raussendorf, Université de la Colombie-Britannique, pour reconnaître ses contributions éminentes à la théorie de l'informatique quantique, notamment ses travaux novateurs sur l'informatique quantique basée sur les mesures ou "à sens unique", l'informatique quantique insensible aux défaillances et les phases de la matière quantique numériquement universelles.

voir le communiqué de presse
Kirkby voir détails de la médaille retour au début

La Médaille commémorative Peter Kirkby de l'ACP-OCPM pour services exceptionnels à la physique au Canada 2021 est décernée à

Prof. Henry M. Van Driel, Université de Toronto, pour reconnaître les services exceptionnels qu'il a rendus à la communauté physicienne canadienne pendant plus de quarante-cinq ans, notamment par ses efforts internationaux, ses grands services à l'ACP, son travail avec le CRSNG au nom de la physique canadienne et son travail de rédaction dans des revues réputées en Amérique du Nord.

voir le communiqué de presse
Industrielle voir détails de la médaille retour au début

La Médaille de l'ACP pour des réalisations exceptionnelles en physique industrielle et appliquée 2021 est décernée à

Dr. Vincent Tabard-Cossa, Université d'Ottawa, pour reconnaître sa contribution innovante à la physique en développant une nouvelle technique de fabrication de nanopores. Les nanopores peuvent détecter électriquement des molécules individuelles comme l'ADN et les protéines et trouvent des applications dans la prochaine génération de dispositifs de diagnostic, de séquençage et de stockage de données. La méthode révolutionnaire de fabrication de nanopores par claquage contrôlé du Dr Tabard-Cossa simplifie et remplace un processus auparavant lourd et dispendieux, permettant la fabrication évolutive et peu couteuse de nanopores à l'état solide à une échelle inférieure au nanomètre.

voir le communiqué de presse
Brockhouse voir détails de la médaille retour au début

La Médaille Brockhouse 2021 est décernée à

Prof. Roger Melko, Université de Waterloo / Institut Périmètre, pour reconnaître son travail sur la compréhension théorique des systèmes quantiques à plusieurs corps par le biais de simulations informatiques à grande échelle. Les outils théoriques mis au point par le groupe de M. Melko offrent une nouvelle perspective pour la compréhension de la matière condensée quantique et se sont avérés très influents dans des domaines tels que l'information quantique, la théorie des champs, la matière atomique froide et l'intelligence artificielle.

voir le communiqué de presse
Enseignement voir détails de la médaille retour au début

La Médaille de l'ACP pour l'excellence en enseignement de la physique au premier cycle 2021 est décernée à

Dr. Richard James Epp, Université de Waterloo, pour reconnaître ses réalisations en matière d'enseignement et son engagement en faveur de la vulgarisation de la physique. Il reçoit régulièrement d'excellentes évaluations d'enseignement de la part des étudiants, qu'ils soient spécialisés ou non, et les étudiants ont fait l'éloge de sa série "Thinking Like a Physicist" (Penser comme un physicien) qui a remplacé les interactions informelles pendant le confinement durant la pandémie.

voir le communiqué de presse
Herzberg voir détails de la médaille retour au début

La Médaille Herzberg 2021 est décernée à

Prof. Simon Caron-Huot, Université McGill, pour reconnaître sa création et son développement de techniques non perturbatrices dans la théorie des champs conformes, ouvrant ainsi la voie à de vastes applications allant de la physique des particules à la physique de la matière condensée.

voir le communiqué de presse
Contributions voir détails de la médaille retour au début

La Médaille de l'ACP pour contributions exceptionnelles à la physique 2021 est décernée à

Robert Brandenberger, Université McGill, pour reconnaître son association des développements révolutionnaires en cosmologie théorique aux récentes avancées spectaculaires en astronomie observationnelle de l'univers primordial.

voir le communiqué de presse
Vogt voir détails de la médaille retour au début

La Médaille Vogt de l'ACP-TRIUMF pour l'excellence dans le domaine de la recherche théorique ou expérimentale en physique subatomique 2021 est décernée à

Prof. Sangyong Jeon, Université McGill, pour reconnaître ses contributions à la théorie des collisions relativistes entre ions lourds et du plasma quark-gluon qui en résulte.

voir le communiqué de presse