francais

2023 Scholarship Recipients

The CAP is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2023 CAP student scholarships, made possible through the generous donations of CAP members to the CAP Foundation and, in the case of the Carswell scholarships, a generous endowment from the Carswell Family Foundation.

Svensson view medal information back to top

The 2023 Eric C. Svensson Memorial Graduate Scholarship is awarded to

Janani Balasubramanian, Ontario Tech University, in recognition of her highly original community service and her groundbreaking research supporting the development of technology to automatically diagnose blood disorders in real-time using a surface-enhanced Raman scattering-based nano-sensor. She is carrying out this research under the supervision of Dr. Nisha Agarwal at Faculty of Science, Ontario Tech University and is a recipient of Ontario Graduate Scholarship 2023-2024 and Mitacs Globalink Graduate Fellowship 2023. Recently arriving in Canada, Ms. Balasubramanian participated at the 2023 CAP Congress and won the “Overall Best Poster” title and the first prize in both Division of Gender Equality in Physics and Division of Physics in Medicine and Biology at the Congress. In addition, she triumphed at the Catalyst Challenge 2023 themed ‘Accelerating Climate Action’ securing First Prize for her project focused on repurposing fallen leaves into eco-friendly paper materials. This initiative, conducted for post-secondary institutions across Canada by Brilliant Catalyst, Ontario Tech University, highlights her dedication to sustainable practices and environmental innovation. Previously, she participated in a number of interdisciplinary projects in India including winning first prize for “Fem Kit”, a polycystic ovarian syndrome diagnostic strip kit and first prize in National level Smart India Hackathon conducted by government of India. She has been and continues to be active as a mentor and teacher. Janani, who is completing her Masters Degree at Ontario Technical University, is an active researcher, having published more than 31 papers, on many of which she is one of the lead authors. Her work clearly demonstrates the application of advanced techniques based on physics to important real-world health problems. She is already a leader and ambassador for the field..


"I am deeply honoured and grateful to receive the Eric Svensson Memorial Graduate Scholarship. This recognition fuels my passion for research and community service. I extend heartfelt thanks to the donors, motivating me to continue contributing to the scientific community with dedication and enthusiasm."

view the press release
Svensson view medal information back to top

The 2021 Eric C. Svensson Memorial Graduate Scholarship is awarded to

Robin Hayes, TRIUMF / University of British Columbia, in recognition of to recognize her precision measurement of the Higgs Boson coupling to W bosons and for her outstanding service as a founding member and Co-Chair of the Equity and Inclusion group in the Physics and Astronomy Department at UBC, as Chair of the Graduate Student and Postdoc Society at TRIUMF, and as a member of TRIUMF’s 20-Year Vision committee.


"It’s exciting to be recognized by a scholarship that values contributions both to physics research and to the Canadian physics community more broadly. I greatly value both parts of being a physicist, and am honoured to receive the Eric C. Svensson Memorial Scholarship."

view the press release

english

Bénéficiaires de bourses d'études 2023

L'ACP est heureuse d'annoncer les récipiendaires des bourses étudiantes de l'ACP pour 2023, rendues possibles grâce aux généreux dons des membres de l'ACP à la Fondation de l'ACP et, dans le cas des bourses Carswell, à une généreuse dotation de la Carswell Family Foundation.

Svensson voir détails de la médaille retour au début

La Bourse commémorative pour étudiants de cycles supérieurs Eric C. Svensson 2023 est décernée è

Janani Balasubramanian, Université technique de l'Ontario, in recognition of l'originalité de ses services à la communauté et de ses recherches novatrices visant à développer une technologie permettant de diagnostiquer automatiquement et en temps réel les troubles sanguins à l'aide d'un nanocapteur basé sur la diffusion Raman améliorée en surface. Elle effectue ces recherches sous la supervision de la Dre Nisha Agarwal à la Faculté des sciences de l'Université technique de l'Ontario et est lauréate de la bourse d'études supérieures de l'Ontario 2023-2024 et de la bourse d'études supérieures Mitacs Globalink 2023. Récemment arrivée au Canada, Mme Balasubramanian a participé au congrès de l'ACP 2023 et y a remporté le titre de « Meilleure affiche globale » et le premier prix à la fois dans la Division de l'égalité des genres en physique et dans la Division de la physique en médecine et en biologie. En outre, elle a triomphé au Catalyst Challenge 2023 sur le thème « Accélérer l'action climatique », remportant le premier prix pour son projet axé sur la réutilisation des feuilles mortes en matériaux de papier écologiques. Cette initiative, menée pour les établissements d'enseignement post-secondaire à travers le Canada par Brilliant Catalyst, Université technique de l’Ontario, souligne son dévouement aux pratiques durables et à l'innovation environnementale. Auparavant, elle a participé à plusieurs projets interdisciplinaires en Inde, notamment en remportant le premier prix pour le « Fem Kit », un kit de diagnostic du syndrome des ovaires polykystiques, ainsi que le premier prix du Smart India Hackathon organisé au niveau national par le gouvernement indien. Elle a été et continue d'être active en tant que mentor et enseignante. Janani, qui termine sa maîtrise à l'Université technique de l'Ontario, est une chercheuse active qui a publié plus de 31 articles, dont elle est souvent l'un des principaux auteurs. Ses travaux démontrent clairement l'application de techniques avancées basées sur la physique à d'importants problèmes de santé dans le monde réel. Elle est déjà une cheffe de file et une ambassadrice dans ce domaine..


"Je suis profondément honorée et reconnaissante de recevoir la bourse d'études supérieures commémorative Eric Svensson. Cette distinction alimente ma passion pour la recherche et le service à la communauté. Je remercie sincèrement les donateurs, qui me motivent à continuer à contribuer à la communauté scientifique avec dévouement et enthousiasme."

voir le communiqué de presse
Svensson voir détails de la médaille retour au début

La Bourse commémorative pour étudiants de cycles supérieurs Eric C. Svensson 2021 est décernée è

Robin Hayes, TRIUMF / University of British Columbia, in recognition of pour reconnaître sa mesure de précision du couplage du boson de Higgs aux bosons W et pour son service exceptionnel en tant que membre fondateur et co-présidente du groupe d'équité et d'inclusion du département de physique et d'astronomie de l'UBC, en tant que présidente de la Graduate Student and Postdoc Society de TRIUMF, et en tant que membre du comité de la vision des 20 ans de TRIUMF.


"C'est passionnant d'être reconnue par une bourse qui valorise les contributions à la fois à la recherche en physique et, plus largement, à la communauté canadienne des physicien(ne)s. J'apprécie grandement ces deux aspects de la vie d'un physicien(ne), et je suis honorée de recevoir la bourse commémorative Eric C. Svensson."

voir le communiqué de presse