2024 CAP Medal and Award Winners

The Canadian Association of Physicists (CAP) and its medal partners are pleased to announce the recipients of the 2024 CAP medals.

The 2024 medalists have been invited to give a plenary lecture as part of the 2024 CAP Conference program, and to receive their medals at the Medalists' Recognition Dinner in London, ON on Wednesday, May 29, 2024. Please refer to the Congress-at-a-glance for the schedule of plenary lectures by the CAP medal winners. If any of the medalists are unable to attend the conference, their medal will be presented at another mutually agreed upon time or sent to them separately after the conference.
CRM view medal information back to top

The 2024 CAP-CRM Prize in Theoretical and Mathematical Physics is awarded to

Dr. Bianca Dittrich, Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics, in recognition of her important contributions to our understanding of the problem of observables in quantum gravity, and for her advancement of spin foam approaches to quantum gravity.

"I am deeply honoured, very happy, and thankful for receiving this prize. I want to thank the CAP and the CRM for this recognition, as well as my remarkable colleagues, students, and collaborators, with whom it has been a joy to work alongside"

view the press release
Brockhouse view medal information back to top

The 2024 CAP/DCMMP Brockhouse Medal is awarded to

Marcel Franz, UBC, in recognition of his work on topological, superconducting and low-dimensional materials as well as the theoretical advances in the physics of Majorana fermions under strong interactions.

"I had the privilege to meet Prof. Brockhouse as a young postdoc at McMaster, just after he received his Nobel prize in 1994, and still remember what a momentous event for the Canadian physics community that was! It is a true honour to be able to join the distinguished ranks of previous CAP Brockhouse medalists, one that I owe in the large part to my talented students and postdocs."

view the press release
Teaching view medal information back to top

The 2024 CAP Medal for Excellence in Teaching Undergraduate Physics is awarded to

Prof. Nikolas Provatas, McGill University, in recognition of his ongoing commitment to excellence in undergraduate course instruction, mentorship of undergraduate research, involvement in physics education research, and outreach activities.

"I am humbled to be awarded the 2024 CAP Medal for Excellence in Teaching Undergraduate Physics. I am gratified by the realization that my peers value my efforts to create new environments wherein students can take agency of their own learning to better understand physics concepts."

view the press release
Herzberg view medal information back to top

The 2024 CAP Herzberg Medal is awarded to

Prof. Julie Hlavacek-Larrondo, Université de Montréal, in recognition of her leadership role in the study of super-massive black-holes in galactic clusters, and the innovative use of artificial intelligence (AI) in the analysis of massive quantities of astrophysical data..

"Receiving the Herzberg Medal is a profound honor, highlighting my excitement for studying black holes and the universe's secrets. This achievement is a tribute to my team's hard work and the unwavering support of my family and mentors, including those who nominated and recommended me, enabling this milestone in my career."

view the press release
Achievement view medal information back to top

The 2024 CAP Medal for Lifetime Achievement in Physics is awarded to

Dr. Xiaoyi Bao, University of Ottawa, in recognition of broad and profound contributions to the optical fibre field; from laying the physical principles for new optical measurement techniques, to developing applications with important impact for Canadian infrastructure and telecommunications.

"Receiving this prestigious CAP Medal is great honour. I am fortunate to be able to follow my passion, exploring the interface of fundamental and applied physics to solve real-world problems benefitting society. This award reflects not just my personal journey but also collaborative efforts of exceptional colleagues, postdocs and students."

view the press release
Vogt view medal information back to top

The 2024 CAP-TRIUMF Vogt Medal for Contributions to Subatomic Physics is awarded to

Prof. Douglas Andrew Bryman, UBC, in recognition of his remarkable contributions to particle physics through his work and leadership on a broad range of experiments testing fundamental phenomena at the precision frontier.

"Experimental particle physics is a team sport and I’ve been extremely fortunate to have collaborated with highly talented and committed colleagues, postdocs, students, and technical professionals. It’s an honor to have our research work recognized by the CAP TRIUMF Vogt Medal. My close associations with TRIUMF and Erich Vogt make the award particularly meaningful to me."

view the press release