2019 CAP Medal and Award Winners

CRM view medal information back to top

The 2019 CAP-CRM Prize in Theoretical and Mathematical Physics is awarded to

Jaume Gomis, Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics, for his broad range of important contributions to string theory and strongly coupled gauge theories, including the pioneering use of nonlocal observables, the exact computation of physical quantities in quantum field theory, and the unravelling of the nonperturbative dynamics of gauge theories.

view the press release
Kirkby view medal information back to top

The 2019 CAP-COMP Peter Kirkby Memorial Medal for Outstanding Service to Canadian Physics is awarded to

Bela Joos, University of Ottawa, for his tireless service and selfless devotion to strengthening the Canadian physics community. His service in the executive of the Canadian Association of Physicists, and his central role in supporting, transforming, and rejuvenating Physics in Canada as a national physics magazine during more than 30 years on the editorial board and more than a decade as editor, embody the ideals of outstanding service to Canadian physics that the Kirkby medal celebrates.

view the press release
Brockhouse view medal information back to top

The 2019 CAP/DCMMP Brockhouse Medal is awarded to

Graeme Luke, McMaster University, for his contributions in the field of superconductor research using muon-spin techniques, and his leading role in developing these techniques at TRIUMF, a signature of Canada's research excellence.

view the press release
Teaching view medal information back to top

The 2019 CAP Medal for Excellence in Teaching Undergraduate Physics is awarded to

Robert Mann, University of Waterloo, for his overall accomplishments in teaching, and the promotion of quality teaching both at his institution and through the CAP, which are exemplified by the instigation of an annual Teaching Retreat at the University of Waterloo and the implementation of the CAP's Award for Excellence in High School/CEGEP Physics Teaching.

view the press release
Herzberg view medal information back to top

The 2019 CAP Herzberg Medal is awarded to

Paul Barclay, University of Calgary, for his demonstrated leadership in nanophotonics and optomechanical devices that is building new bridges between pure and applied quantum science.

view the press release
Achievement view medal information back to top

The 2019 CAP Medal for Lifetime Achievement in Physics is awarded to

Douglas Bonn, University of British Columbia, for his accomplishments in quantum materials that have advanced our understanding of high-temperature superconductors.

view the press release
Vogt view medal information back to top

The 2019 CAP-TRIUMF Vogt Medal for Contributions to Subatomic Physics is awarded to

Scott Oser, University of British Columbia and TRIUMF, for his contributions to the study of neutrino oscillations with the SNO and T2K experiments, and to experimental searches for dark matter with SuperCDMS. He has demonstrated excellence in hardware design and construction, data analysis, scientific interpretation of the results, organization, and leadership. The award is in recognition of the breadth of his scientific endeavours, demonstrable expertise, and high impact in each experiment.

view the press release
Industrial view medal information back to top

The 2019 CAP Medal for Outstanding Achievement in Industrial and Applied Physics was not awarded this year. decision has not yet been published.

Please check back at a later date.