2013 CAP Medal and Award Winners

Kirkby view medal information back to top

The 2013 CAP-COMP Peter Kirkby Memorial Medal for Outstanding Service to Canadian Physics is awarded to

David Chettle, McMaster University, in recognition of for his dedicated service to the Canadian physics community which has strengthened and raised the profile of physics as a profession. He has enthusiastically mentored a generation of medical, health and radiation physics students and has made physics an attractive career option for many. His development, maintenance and expansion of vital multi-disciplinary programs and infrastructure raised the profile of Canadian physics internationally; he played a key role in the DMBP; and his leadership has led to active participation by many in the physics community.

view the press release
Industrial view medal information back to top

The 2013 CAP Medal for Outstanding Achievement in Industrial and Applied Physics is awarded to

Xiaoyi Bao, University of Ottawa, in recognition of for her remarkable technological advances in a number of areas; notably in the monitoring of polarization mode dispersion (PMD) of field fibers and their impact on high speed communication networks. In addition she has led in the development of distributed sensors to monitor the health of civil infrastructures, technological advances that have been embraced by industry and led to new products.

view the press release
Brockhouse view medal information back to top

The 2013 CAP/DCMMP Brockhouse Medal is awarded to

James Forrest / Kari Dalnoki-Veress, University of Waterloo and McMaster University respectively, in recognition of for their outstanding collaborative work in the physics of macromolecules in thin films, as well as near surfaces as interfaces.

view the press release
Teaching view medal information back to top

The 2013 CAP Medal for Excellence in Teaching Undergraduate Physics is awarded to

Mona Berciu, University of British Columbia, in recognition of for her exceptional ability to communicate knowledge and understanding and lead students to high academic achievement in physics through her own example, for her leading role in the Welcome Women (WOW) initiative to recruit female students and for her efforts to generally improve the quality of physics teaching through such work as undertaken by the Carl Weiman Science Education Initiative.

view the press release
Herzberg view medal information back to top

The 2013 CAP Herzberg Medal is awarded to

Federico Rosei, INRS-EMT, Université du Québec, in recognition of for his innovative and interdisciplinary studies of a wide range of nanostructured materials and for exceptional outreach activities.

view the press release
Achievement view medal information back to top

The 2013 CAP Medal for Lifetime Achievement in Physics is awarded to

David John Lockwood, National Research Council, in recognition of for his distinguished and sustained contributions to the elucidation of the optical properties of solids, low-dimensional semiconductor systems, and in particular light-emission from silicon, as well as his contributions to the advancement of physics in Canada and worldwide.

view the press release
Vogt view medal information back to top

The 2013 CAP-TRIUMF Vogt Medal for Contributions to Subatomic Physics is awarded to

Jens Dilling, TRIUMF, in recognition of for his leadership in the development and implementation of new ion trapping and precision mass measurement techniques applied to radioactive nuclei which have dramatically advanced our understanding of halo nuclei and the role of 3 body forces in nuclear systems.

view the press release