2019 Medal Winners | francais

The 2019 CAP/DCMMP Brockhouse Medal

is awarded to

Graeme Luke

"I am honoured to be the 2019 Brockhouse Medal recipient. I consider myself extremely fortunate to be a member of the Canadian physics community and to have the opportunity to work with wonderful colleagues, collaborators and students. I am very grateful for the support provided by McMaster University’s Brockhouse Institute for Materials Research and TRIUMF’s Centre for Molecular and Materials Research where much of my research is performed." winner citation

The Canadian Association of Physicists (CAP) is pleased to announce that the 2019 CAP/DCMMP Brockhouse Medal is awarded to Graeme Luke, McMaster University, in recognition of for his contributions in the field of superconductor research using muon-spin techniques, and his leading role in developing these techniques at TRIUMF, a signature of Canada's research excellence. announcement

Prof. Graeme Luke is being recognized for a breadth of experimental studies on new quantum materials - new quantum magnets and superconductors with remarkable physical properties. Prof. Luke carried out these studies using both the Centre for Crystal Growth within the Brockhouse Institute for Materials at McMaster University, where the new materials were synthesized, and at the TRIUMF laboratories in Vancouver. Luke is internationally recognized for his ground breaking studies of new magnets and superconductors using beams of rare muon particles produced at TRIUMF. nominator citation

- 30 -