CAP Medal and Award Winners

The Canadian Association of Physicists (CAP) and its medal partners are pleased to announce the recipients of the 2024 CAP medals.

The 2024 medalists have been invited to give a plenary lecture as part of the 2024 CAP Conference program, and to receive their medals at the Medalists' Recognition Dinner in London, ON on Wednesday, May 29, 2024. Please refer to the Congress-at-a-glance for the schedule of plenary lectures by the CAP medal winners. If any of the medalists are unable to attend the conference, their medal will be presented at another mutually agreed upon time or sent to them separately after the conference.

Stoicheff view medal information back to top

The 2022 Boris P. Stoicheff Memorial Graduate Scholarship is awarded to

Kate Fenwick, University of Ottawa / NRC, in recognition of high academic standing, success in research publications, and leadership and commitment to STEM gender diversity.

"It is a great honor to receive this scholarship in Boris P. Stoicheff's memory. I am now studying in one of the previous Herzberg labs at the National Research Council of Canada – part of the same group of labs in which Dr. Stoicheff researched while with the Herzberg group. His work on nonlinear optics built much of the foundation for my research today."

view the press release
Stoicheff view medal information back to top

The 2020 Boris P. Stoicheff Memorial Graduate Scholarship is awarded to

Matthew Robbins, University of Waterloo, in recognition of leadership in developing the theory of Bose-Einstein condensates as a novel detector of gravitational waves that would open a new window on the universe for astronomical observations.

"I am excited and honored to receive this scholarship. During my PhD, I have always tried to be a successful researcher and effective advocate for graduate students. Receiving this scholarship tells me that I have achieved my goal and I look forward to continuing my work supporting graduate students in the coming year."

view the press release