2017 CAP Medal and Award Winners

CRM view medal information back to top

The 2017 CAP-CRM Prize in Theoretical and Mathematical Physics is awarded to

Raymond Laflamme, Institute for Quantum Computing/University of Waterloo, for his ground-breaking contributions on quantum information.

view the press release
Kirkby view medal information back to top

The 2017 CAP-COMP Peter Kirkby Memorial Medal for Outstanding Service to Canadian Physics is awarded to

Prof. Jerry J. Battista, Western University, for his outstanding and lifelong contributions to Medical Physics in Canada that have fundamentally altered worldwide practice. In addition to being an outstanding teacher, researcher, and mentor, Dr. Battista has steadfastly advocated for his field through his work on many professional and accreditation committees, his service as an advisor to the Ontario Ministry of Health and Cancer Care Ontario, and his coordination of Canada's largest residency training program in clinical physics.

view the press release
Industrial view medal information back to top

The 2017 CAP Medal for Outstanding Achievement in Industrial and Applied Physics is awarded to

Simon Fafard, Université de Sherbrooke, for his new developments covering 20 years of research in applied solid state Physics, coupled with his strong efforts in commercializing these through patents and the establishment of his own companies.

view the press release
Brockhouse view medal information back to top

The 2017 CAP/DCMMP Brockhouse Medal is awarded to

Yong Baek Kim, University of Toronto, for his leading work on the effects of large spin-orbit coupling on exotic ground states in geometrically frustrated and highly correlated quantum materials.

view the press release
Teaching view medal information back to top

The 2017 CAP Medal for Excellence in Teaching Undergraduate Physics is awarded to

Martin Williams, University of Guelph, for his exceptional ability to lead students to high academic achievements in physics through excellence and innovation in teaching and mentoring, for his contribution to curriculum design inspired by the results of Physics Education Research, and for his leadership in promoting the adoption of innovative research-based instructional strategies within the Canadian physics education community.

view the press release
Herzberg view medal information back to top

The 2017 CAP Herzberg Medal is awarded to

Paul François, McGill University, for his seminal research in theoretical biophysics, particularly the use of methods from statistical and computational physics to model cellular processes as non-linear dynamical systems.

view the press release
Achievement view medal information back to top

The 2017 CAP Medal for Lifetime Achievement in Physics is awarded to

Mark Sutton, McGill University, for pioneering the development of coherent and time-resolved X-ray scattering techniques for the study of materials, and his resulting contributions to our understanding of materials and phase transitions.

view the press release
Vogt view medal information back to top

The 2017 CAP-TRIUMF Vogt Medal for Contributions to Subatomic Physics is awarded to

Prof. Charles Gale, McGill University, for advances in theoretical nuclear physics including the theory and modelling of high-energy nuclear collisions.

view the press release