2013 CAP Medal and Award Winners

Kirkby view medal information back to top

The 2013 CAP-COMP Peter Kirkby Memorial Medal for Outstanding Service to Canadian Physics is awarded to

David Chettle, McMaster University, in recognition of for his dedicated service to the Canadian physics community which has strengthened and raised the profile of physics as a profession. He has enthusiastically mentored a generation of medical, health and radiation physics students and has made physics an attractive career option for many. His development, maintenance and expansion of vital multi-disciplinary programs and infrastructure raised the profile of Canadian physics internationally; he played a key role in the DMBP; and his leadership has led to active participation by many in the physics community.

"I was surprised, encouraged, grateful to receive a ‘phone call from the President of the Canadian Association of Physicists to tell me that I had been awarded the Peter Kirkby Memorial Medal. Recognition from the leaders in the Physics community in Canada is both an honour and a very great encouragement and I am particularly grateful to those who must have invested considerable hard work in putting forward my nomination."

view the press release
Industrial view medal information back to top

The 2013 CAP Medal for Outstanding Achievement in Industrial and Applied Physics is awarded to

Xiaoyi Bao, University of Ottawa, in recognition of for her remarkable technological advances in a number of areas; notably in the monitoring of polarization mode dispersion (PMD) of field fibers and their impact on high speed communication networks. In addition she has led in the development of distributed sensors to monitor the health of civil infrastructures, technological advances that have been embraced by industry and led to new products.

"It is a great honour to receive the CAP Industrial and Applied Physics medal. This recognizes not just my own contributions, but also those of my many excellent collaborators, postdocs and graduate students, who have greatly enriched and contributed to the work. The importance of this award is to acknowledge the innovations in fiber optics technology from a Canadian group, which is something that I am passionate about. Furthermore, I am grateful to Prof. Béla Joos, who has nominated me."

view the press release
Brockhouse view medal information back to top

The 2013 CAP/DCMMP Brockhouse Medal is awarded to

James Forrest / Kari Dalnoki-Veress, University of Waterloo and McMaster University respectively, in recognition of for their outstanding collaborative work in the physics of macromolecules in thin films, as well as near surfaces as interfaces.

"We are deeply honoured to receive the 2013 Brockhouse Medal. Being recognized by the community for the work that we love is a true privilege. It is with great gratitude that we share this award not only together, but also with the extended research team from whom we have had the opportunity to learn."

view the press release
Teaching view medal information back to top

The 2013 CAP Medal for Excellence in Teaching Undergraduate Physics is awarded to

Mona Berciu, University of British Columbia, in recognition of for her exceptional ability to communicate knowledge and understanding and lead students to high academic achievement in physics through her own example, for her leading role in the Welcome Women (WOW) initiative to recruit female students and for her efforts to generally improve the quality of physics teaching through such work as undertaken by the Carl Weiman Science Education Initiative.

"I am honoured to be awarded this Medal from the Canadian Association of Physicists. I am grateful to all those who worked on my behalf to make this happen, and to all my students for being such a delight to interact with."

view the press release
Herzberg view medal information back to top

The 2013 CAP Herzberg Medal is awarded to

Federico Rosei, INRS-EMT, Université du Québec, in recognition of for his innovative and interdisciplinary studies of a wide range of nanostructured materials and for exceptional outreach activities.

"I feel truly privileged and honored to receive the 2013 Herzberg Medal from the Canadian Association of Physics. I owe this success to the excellent trainees and collaborators that I had the pleasure to work with as well as to my mentors, who always supported me and encouraged me."

view the press release
Achievement view medal information back to top

The 2013 CAP Medal for Lifetime Achievement in Physics is awarded to

David John Lockwood, National Research Council, in recognition of for his distinguished and sustained contributions to the elucidation of the optical properties of solids, low-dimensional semiconductor systems, and in particular light-emission from silicon, as well as his contributions to the advancement of physics in Canada and worldwide.

"I am humbled by this prestigious recognition from my peers for a lifetime’s work in this wonderful country. I dedicate this award with grateful thanks to my talented colleagues at the National Research Council, without whom none of this work would have been possible."

view the press release
Vogt view medal information back to top

The 2013 CAP-TRIUMF Vogt Medal for Contributions to Subatomic Physics is awarded to

Jens Dilling, TRIUMF, in recognition of for his leadership in the development and implementation of new ion trapping and precision mass measurement techniques applied to radioactive nuclei which have dramatically advanced our understanding of halo nuclei and the role of 3 body forces in nuclear systems.

"Being awarded the CAP-TRIUMF Vogt Medal for Outstanding Contributions to Subatomic Physics is tremendous and it means a lot to me personally because of my respect for Erich Vogt and what he helped create at TRIUMF. I see this award as a reflection by the CAP community on my contributions as an experimentalist and the successes we have had with the ISAC facility at TRIUMF, now a world-class rare-isotope beam facility, as well as on the involvement I have had with the SNOLAB facility---another prime example of Canadian scientific leadership on the global scale. I am very, very proud to accept this honor. I thank my fellow CAP members and the broader TRIUMF community for this award."

view the press release