2009 CAP Medal and Award Winners

Recipients have been invited to give a plenary lecture during the 2009 CAP Congress at the Université de Moncton in Moncton, New Brunswick, from June 7-10. Please refer to the Congress program for the schedule of plenary talks by CAP medal winners. The recipients will be honoured during the Congress banquet to be held on 2009 June 9th.
CRM view medal information back to top

The 2009 CAP-CRM Prize in Theoretical and Mathematical Physics is awarded to

Hong Guo, McGill University, for his pioneering work on the ab initio theory of transport in nanoscale systems, including the theory of circuits in which current flows through molecules.

view the press release
Industrial view medal information back to top

The 2009 CAP Medal for Outstanding Achievement in Industrial and Applied Physics is awarded to

Dr. Andreas Mandelis, University of Toronto, for his prolific work and seminal impact on the science and engineering of diffusion waves. He has pioneered the use of photoacoustic and photothermal techniques in thermal-diffusivity depth profilometry and cross-sectional slice tomography for sub-surface defect imaging in optically opaque materials. He has made outstanding contributions to both applied and industrial physics through continuous transfer/commercialization of the products of his fundamental and applied research to the industrial and health sectors.

view the press release
Brockhouse view medal information back to top

The 2009 CAP/DCMMP Brockhouse Medal is awarded to

Michel Gingras, University of Waterloo, for his seminal contributions to the statistical mechanics description of random disordered systems and geometrically frustrated magnetic systems. Dr. Gingras is an internationally recognized leader in this field with an outstanding publication record whose work has served (quoting Dr. Thomas Rosenbaum, J.T. Wilson Distinguished Service Professor, University of Chicago) “to point the community as a whole to a new perspective on how local disorder and frustration can be connected to a material’s macroscopic response”.

view the press release
Teaching view medal information back to top

The 2009 CAP Medal for Excellence in Teaching Undergraduate Physics is awarded to

Prof. Jeff Dahn, Dalhousie University, for his exceptional dedication to superior undergraduate physics teaching, his ability to motivate students to study physics by bringing the concepts to life in his classes, and his mentorship of students engaging in research at all levels.

view the press release
Herzberg view medal information back to top

The 2009 CAP Herzberg Medal is awarded to

Guy Moore, McGill University, for the broad impact of his contributions to theoretical particle physics, such as the bulk and collective behaviour of quantum chromodynamics under extreme conditions of temperature and density.

view the press release
Achievement view medal information back to top

The 2009 CAP Medal for Lifetime Achievement in Physics is awarded to

Dr. Richard Peltier, University of Toronto, for his seminal contributions to understanding the physics of the earth, including glacial isostatic adjustment, mantle convection, fluid dynamics of the atmosphere and oceans, and global climate variability.

view the press release