2008 CAP Medal and Award Winners

Several recipients have been invited to give a plenary lecture during the 2008 CAP Congress at Laval University in Quebec, from June 8-11. The recipients will be honoured during the Congress banquet to be held on 2008 June 10th.
CRM view medal information back to top

The 2008 CAP-CRM Prize in Theoretical and Mathematical Physics is awarded to

Prof. Richard Cleve, University of Waterloo, in recognition of for fundamental results in quantum information theory, including the structure of quantum algorithms and the foundations of quantum communication complexity.

view the press release
INO view medal information back to top

The 2008 CAP-INO Medal for Outstanding Achievement in Applied Photonics is awarded to

Dr. Jacques Beaulieu, INRS, in recognition of for the invention of the transversely-excited atmospheric carbon dioxide laser as well as his work in system performance modeling.

"I am honored and flattered to have been nominated for this award. I consider this to represents also a recognition of the excellent collaboration I have received from my colleagues of the Defense Research Establishment Valcartier, the Physics department of Laval University and the accomplishments of INO in the field of Photonics."

view the press release
Kirkby view medal information back to top

The 2008 CAP-COMP Peter Kirkby Memorial Medal for Outstanding Service to Canadian Physics is awarded to

Peter Calamai, The Toronto Star, in recognition of for his exemplary communication of science to the public, for his dedication to the promotion of science through the media, and for his advocacy for science in Canada.

"When I squeaked out of McMaster University four decades ago with a B.Sc. in physics, it was beyond my wildest dreams that some day I might be so handsomely honoured by real physicists. I'll still be pinching myself on June 10."

view the press release
Brockhouse view medal information back to top

The 2008 CAP/DCMMP Brockhouse Medal is awarded to

Prof. Jess Brewer, University of British Columbia, in recognition of for his pioneering work to develop muon spin relaxation and related techniques, leading to the creation of an important new field in materials physics.

view the press release
Teaching view medal information back to top

The 2008 CAP Medal for Excellence in Teaching Undergraduate Physics is awarded to

Adam James Sarty, St. Mary, in recognition of for inspiring his students to love learning physics, successfully implementing innovative teaching technologies and sharing the beauty of the discipline, through his dedication to physics education.

"I am humbled and honoured to receive this Medal, and would like to share the recognition with my 'team': my wife and children, my Department and Dean, and SMU's instructional development office - all have taught me, guided me, and supported me in my physics teaching."

view the press release
Herzberg view medal information back to top

The 2008 CAP Herzberg Medal is awarded to

Dr. Carl Svensson, University of Guelph, in recognition of for his strong leadership and major accomplishments in experimental nuclear physics, including measurements that improve significantly the understanding of high angular momentum states in medium weight nuclei and fundamental physics measurements using radioactive beams.

view the press release
Achievement view medal information back to top

The 2008 CAP Medal for Lifetime Achievement in Physics is awarded to

Dr. Louis Taillefer, Universite de Sherbrooke, in recognition of for his strong leadership in condensed matter research, resulting in the discovery of multi-component superconductivity, the first observed violation of the Wiedemann-Franz universal ratio of charge and heat conductivities, and an experimental breakthrough in high-temperature superconductors, where quantum oscillations were discovered.

view the press release