2018 CAP Medal and Award Winners

CRM view medal information back to top

The 2018 CAP-CRM Prize in Theoretical and Mathematical Physics is awarded to

Dr. Ariel Zhitnitsky, University of British Columbia, for his ground-breaking contributions to theoretical high energy physics, in particular for his development of the ``invisible axion" model, and for his work on the vacuum structure of non-Abelian gauge theories.

view the press release
INO view medal information back to top

The 2018 CAP-INO Medal for Outstanding Achievement in Applied Photonics is awarded to

Tigran Galstian, Universite Laval, for the development and successful transfer of the “crystal lens” technology to the industry, for applications in cellphone cameras and dynamic lighting..

view the press release
Brockhouse view medal information back to top

The 2018 CAP/DCMMP Brockhouse Medal is awarded to

Dr. Andrea Damascelli, University of British Columbia, for his important contributions and leadership in the investigation of quantum solids and surfaces, in particular for what concerns strongly-correlated systems, through the design and development of unique angle-resolved photoemission spectroscopy (ARPES) instruments.

view the press release
Teaching view medal information back to top

The 2018 CAP Medal for Excellence in Teaching Undergraduate Physics is awarded to

Sarah Johnson, Simon Fraser University, for her overall accomplished contributions to teaching. In addition to her sustained excellence in classroom teaching, Sarah has been active in developing programming to ensure student success, such as a volunteer Peer Tutoring Program in Science & Math and Early Intervention Tutorials for students at risk of failure in first-year classes. She has been active in curriculum design, such as the development of a Studio Physics version of first-year physics and was an early adopter of iClickers, which are a tremendous tool for improving student engagement during lectures. Sarah has a stellar record of community outreach in general (e.g., "Science Spooktacular"), and her efforts in encouraging young women to go into physics (e.g., "Girls Exploring Physics"), in particular.

view the press release
Herzberg view medal information back to top

The 2018 CAP Herzberg Medal is awarded to

Alison Lister, University of British Columbia, for her many leadership roles in the ATLAS Collaboration and for the breadth of her contributions in particle physics, including the discovery of the Higgs boson, precision measurements of the top quark, new limits on physics beyond the Standard Model, and innovative efforts in using machine learning in experimental particle physics.

view the press release
Achievement view medal information back to top

The 2018 CAP Medal for Lifetime Achievement in Physics is awarded to

Dr. Jean-Michel Poutissou, TRIUMF, for his lifelong contributions to the field of experimental particle physics. Jean-Michel’s decades-long research career includes pioneering work on precision measurements of rare decays and their implications for the Standard Model, ground-breaking work on the use of off-axis neutrino beams for studying neutrino oscillations. Moreover, having served as TRIUMF’s Associate/Science Director for 21 years, he’s dedicated decades of outstanding leadership and stewardship in transforming TRIUMF into a world-class multidisciplinary research laboratory.

view the press release
Vogt view medal information back to top

The 2018 CAP-TRIUMF Vogt Medal for Contributions to Subatomic Physics is awarded to

Dr. Rituparna Kanungo, Saint Mary's University, for her leadership and contribution in the field of direct reaction and halo-nuclei studies with rare isotopes, including ground breaking discoveries of doubly-magic oxygen isotope.

view the press release