2018 CAP Lecture Tour Schedule

The CAP 2018 Lecture Tour will take place from January through April at participating physics departments across Canada. Confirmed speakers and event dates are shown in the table, which will be updated as the schedule is finalized. Click on the titles below to see the abstract and biographical notes. Please note that the table can be sorted by clicking on the column headers.



Use the mouse in the header to sort on that column.
Date Location of talk Speaker Title
Thu, 18-Jan-2018École Polytechnique de MontréalDr. Thomas GrégoireLooking beyond the Standard Model with the Large Hadron Collider (LHC)
Fri, 02-Feb-2018Université de MontréalProf. Na Young KimQuantum Innovation Laboratory
Mon, 05-Feb-2018University of VictoriaProf. Federico RoseiWhat type of Energy for the future of humanity?
Tue, 06-Feb-2018Memorial UniversityDr. Graeme LukeExotic Probes and Extreme Conditions Reveal New States of Quantum Matter
Tue, 06-Feb-2018Kwantlen Polytechnic UniversityProf. Federico RoseiWhat type of Energy for the future of humanity?
Tue, 06-Feb-2018Carleton UniversityDr. Erica CadenWhat we don't know about neutrinos!
Wed, 07-Feb-2018University of MonctonDr. Graeme LukeExotic Probes and Extreme Conditions Reveal New States of Quantum Matter
Thu, 08-Feb-2018University of OttawaDr. Erica CadenWhat we don't know about neutrinos!
Fri, 09-Feb-2018University of ManitobaProf. Judith IrwinFeedback, Flares, Fountains and Flows -- How Galaxies Refuse to Sit Still
Tue, 13-Feb-2018University of WindsorDr. Graeme LukeExotic Probes and Extreme Conditions Reveal New States of Quantum Matter
Fri, 16-Feb-2018Concordia UniversityDr. Stanley GreenspoonWhat's New in the Search for Exoplanets and Extraterrestrial Life
Mon, 26-Feb-2018University of Northern BCProf. Stephen MorrisThe subtle physics of icicles
Wed, 28-Feb-2018University of ReginaProf. Stephen MorrisThe subtle physics of icicles
Fri, 02-Mar-2018University of AlbertaProf. Stephen MorrisThe subtle physics of icicles
Mon, 05-Mar-2018Okanagan CollegeProf. Ken ClarkDark Matter: How to Hunt for the Unknown
Tue, 06-Mar-2018University of BC - Okanagan CampusProf. Ken ClarkDark Matter: How to Hunt for the Unknown
Tue, 06-Mar-2018Lakehead UniversityDr. Pierre GorelDigging into Mysteries: the Search for Dark Matter at SNOLAB.
Thu, 08-Mar-2018University of British ColumbiaProf. Ken ClarkDark Matter: How to Hunt for the Unknown
Fri, 09-Mar-2018Simon Fraser UniversityProf. Ken ClarkDark Matter: How to Hunt for the Unknown
Fri, 09-Mar-2018Acadia UniversityProf. Michael SteinitzThe Mechanics of Scientific Publishing, Peer Review, and Ethics in Publishing
Tue, 13-Mar-2018McMaster UniversityDr. Pierre GorelDigging into Mysteries: the Search for Dark Matter at SNOLAB.
Tue, 13-Mar-2018Laurentian UniversityProf. Jan CamiThe Search for Life in the Universe
Wed, 14-Mar-2018University of GuelphDr. Pierre GorelDigging into Mysteries: the Search for Dark Matter at SNOLAB.
Wed, 14-Mar-2018Trent UniversityProf. Stephen MorrisThe subtle physics of icicles
Thu, 15-Mar-2018University of TorontoDr. Erica CadenWhat we don't know about neutrinos!
Fri, 16-Mar-2018University of BrandonDr. Arundhati DasguptaQuantum Field Theory with Star Operators
Fri, 16-Mar-2018University of WaterlooDr. Erica CadenWhat we don't know about neutrinos!
Tue, 20-Mar-2018University of New Brunswick - FrederictonProf. Jan CamiThe Search for Life in the Universe
Wed, 21-Mar-2018Bishop's UniversityProf. Na Young KimQuantum Innovation Laboratory
Wed, 21-Mar-2018Université de SherbrookeProf. Na Young KimQuantum Innovation Laboratory
Wed, 21-Mar-2018St Francis Xavier UniversityProf. Jan CamiThe Search for Life in the Universe
Thu, 22-Mar-2018University of Western OntarioProf. Ken ClarkDark Matter: How to Hunt for the Unknown
Thu, 22-Mar-2018Mt. Allison UniversityProf. Jan CamiThe Search for Life in the Universe
Fri, 23-Mar-2018Saint Mary's UniversityProf. Jan CamiThe Search for Life in the Universe
Fri, 23-Mar-2018University of Ontario Inst. Tech.Prof. Stephen MorrisThe subtle physics of icicles
Fri, 23-Mar-2018University of WinnipegDr. Erica CadenWhat we don't know about neutrinos!
Tue, 27-Mar-2018University of SaskatchewanDr. Arundhati DasguptaQuantum Field Theory with Star Operators
Wed, 28-Mar-2018Queen's UniversityProf. Federico RoseiWhat type of Energy for the future of humanity?
Thu, 29-Mar-2018Royal Military CollegeProf. Federico RoseiWhat type of Energy for the future of humanity?
Thu, 05-Apr-2018University of LethbridgeDr. Thomas GrégoireLooking beyond the Standard Model with the Large Hadron Collider (LHC)
Fri, 06-Apr-2018University of CalgaryDr. Thomas GrégoireLooking beyond the Standard Model with the Large Hadron Collider (LHC)
Thu, 12-Apr-2018Université de Québec à  Trois-RiviêresProf. Na Young KimQuantum Innovation Laboratory
Fri, 13-Apr-2018McGill UniversityProf. Na Young KimQuantum Innovation Laboratory
Tue, 24-Apr-2018Université de LavalProf. Federico RoseiWhat type of Energy for the future of humanity?
TBAUniversity of PEIProf. Caroline BoudouxLight at Heart - Fiber optics from laboratory to market
TBAWilfrid Laurier UniversityProf. Caroline BoudouxLight at Heart - Fiber optics from laboratory to market
TBARyerson UniversityProf. Caroline BoudouxLight at Heart - Fiber optics from laboratory to market
TBAUniversity of the Fraser ValleyProf. An-Chang ShiSoft Matter: Where Physics Meets Chemistry and Biology
TBATrinity Western UniversityProf. An-Chang ShiSoft Matter: Where Physics Meets Chemistry and Biology