2015 CAP Medal and Award Winners

CRM view medal information back to top

The 2015 CAP-CRM Prize in Theoretical and Mathematical Physics is awarded to

Prof. Charles Gale, McGill University, for his distinguished original research contributions to three areas of theoretical nuclear physics: the determination of the equation of state from medium energy heavy ion collisions, the use of photons, lepton pairs and jets as probes of the hot and dense matter formed in high energy heavy ion collisions, and the implementation of a state-of-the-art computer code for 3+1 dimensional second-order viscous relativistic fluid dynamics for heavy ion collisions.

view the press release
Kirkby view medal information back to top

The 2015 CAP-COMP Peter Kirkby Memorial Medal for Outstanding Service to Canadian Physics is awarded to

Prof. Gordon Drake, University of Windsor, for the key role he played in preparing the case to NSERC for increased funding for physics in the 1990's, for his untiring promotion of Canadian physics through his participation or leadership in numerous international and Canadian physics organizations and committees, and for his effective communication of physics to the non-scientific community..

view the press release
Brockhouse view medal information back to top

The 2015 CAP/DCMMP Brockhouse Medal is awarded to

Dr. John Page, University of Manitoba, for significant and original contributions to the understanding of ultrasonic wave phenomena in complex media through the development and application of new experimental techniques to characterize the structure and dynamics of such materials, including the first demonstration of Anderson localization of classical waves by disorder in three dimensions.

view the press release
Teaching view medal information back to top

The 2015 CAP Medal for Excellence in Teaching Undergraduate Physics is awarded to

Dr. Chitra Rangan, University of Windsor, for her unstoppable commitment to optimizing student interest in physics by employing a wide range of active instructional strategies to enhance student learning, and for being a steadfast advocate for active and research-based learning as well as effective communication skills in science.

view the press release
Herzberg view medal information back to top

The 2015 CAP Herzberg Medal is awarded to

Prof. François Légaré, INRS-EMT, for ultrafast molecular imaging, development of high peak power infrared lasers for high harmonic generation and tissue imaging with nonlinear optical microscopy techniques.

view the press release
Achievement view medal information back to top

The 2015 CAP Medal for Lifetime Achievement in Physics is awarded to

Prof. John F. Martin, University of Toronto / IPP, for his contributions to experimental particle physics and his leadership role in the international physics community.

view the press release
Vogt view medal information back to top

The 2015 CAP-TRIUMF Vogt Medal for Contributions to Subatomic Physics is awarded to

Prof. Pierre Savard, University of Toronto/ TRIUMF, for his contributions to particle physics and in particular for his leadership of the Higgs -> WW analysis, which was an important ingredient in establishing that the discovered particle was, in fact, the Higgs boson.

view the press release
Industrial view medal information back to top

The 2015 CAP Medal for Outstanding Achievement in Industrial and Applied Physics was not awarded this year.