2023 Medal Winners | francais

The 2023 CAP-COMP Peter Kirkby Memorial Medal for Outstanding Service to Canadian Physics

is awarded to

Laura Pankratz

"Receiving the Kirkby Memorial Medal is an honour and a humbling experience. I especially value how this recognition reinforces that the physics community in Canada includes people working in both high school and post-secondary contexts." winner citation

The Canadian Association of Physicists (CAP) and the Canadian Organization of Medical Physicists (COMP) are pleased to announce that the 2023 CAP-COMP Peter Kirkby Memorial Medal for Outstanding Service to Canadian Physics is awarded to Laura Pankratz, Government of Alberta, in recognition of her service to both the CAP and to Canadian society through her exemplary work in education and outreach. announcement

For over 25 years, Laura Pankratz has been a guiding force behind Physics education in Alberta. From her beginnings as an award-winning teacher, Laura has always had the interests and success of both physics students and their teachers as a primary motivator. It is exceedingly rare to find an educator who has such a passion for promoting excellence in physics education, and who is as willing to share her passion and vision.

Laura’s influence is multipronged; from her work with curriculum development and the Alberta diploma exam process, to developing and delivering professional development activities, as the driving force behind the establishment and running of the Alberta AAPT Physics section, through to actively mentoring teachers across the province, Laura is really the voice of physics in Alberta. It is not an exaggeration to say that her work with Alberta teachers, and the Alberta education infrastructure, has positively influenced virtually every student in Alberta over the last 25 years. It is also fair to say that her work as a facilitator with the Einstein+ program, and recent multiyear secondment to the Perimeter Institute, developing educational activities getting at the heart of modern physics, has had a direct influence on classroom practices across Canada and other countries around the world. nominator citation

- 30 -