2021 Medal Winners | francais

The 2021 Eric C. Svensson Memorial Graduate Scholarship

is awarded to

Robin Hayes

"It’s exciting to be recognized by a scholarship that values contributions both to physics research and to the Canadian physics community more broadly. I greatly value both parts of being a physicist, and am honoured to receive the Eric C. Svensson Memorial Scholarship." winner citation

The Canadian Association of Physicists (CAP) is pleased to announce that the 2021 Eric C. Svensson Memorial Graduate Scholarship is awarded to Robin Hayes, TRIUMF / University of British Columbia, in recognition of to recognize her precision measurement of the Higgs Boson coupling to W bosons and for her outstanding service as a founding member and Co-Chair of the Equity and Inclusion group in the Physics and Astronomy Department at UBC, as Chair of the Graduate Student and Postdoc Society at TRIUMF, and as a member of TRIUMF’s 20-Year Vision committee. announcement

Robin is a PhD student at the University of British Columbia and TRIUMF, working on the ATLAS experiment at CERN's Large Hadron Collider (LHC). Her work investigates the Higgs boson’s coupling to W bosons, which mediate the weak force. Along with her team, she aims to measure the cross-section of Higgs boson production at the LHC, by detecting the Higgs boson’s decay to two W bosons. She has been heavily involved in the physics community at her local institutes and more broadly. She takes particular interest in efforts to improve institutional support for students and postdocs, promote equity and diversity in physics, and foster public interest in fundamental research. nominator citation

- 30 -