2018 Medal Winners | francais

The 2018 CAP Herzberg Medal

is awarded to

Alison Lister

"This award is a great honour not only for me personally but also to recognize the important work done by my postdoc and students as well as the broader ATLAS-Canada community. We strive to use advanced techniques for data analysis through to detector development in order to make the most of the excellent performance delivered by the Large Hadron Collider." winner citation

The Canadian Association of Physicists (CAP) is pleased to announce that the 2018 CAP Herzberg Medal is awarded to Alison Lister, University of British Columbia, in recognition of for her many leadership roles in the ATLAS Collaboration and for the breadth of her contributions in particle physics, including the discovery of the Higgs boson, precision measurements of the top quark, new limits on physics beyond the Standard Model, and innovative efforts in using machine learning in experimental particle physics. announcement

Prof. Alison Lister is an experimental particle physicist, working on the Large Hadron Collider at CERN and searching for evidence of physics beyond the Standard Model. She focuses on the top quark sector, carefully studying its properties and devising methods to search for any new types of particles that might decay to tops. Prof. Lister has led a successful effort to use machine-learning techniques to distinguish top quarks from other particles. She is currently involved in setting up a production site for module assembly of the hardware and electronics for next generation of the ATLAS inner detector. From 2013 to 2016, Prof. Lister was one of two co-convenors of the ATLAS Top Working Group, organizing and managing the physics program of the group and vetting analyses at the first stage of the formal approval process to make ATLAS results public. During her tenure as convener, her Top group produced 35 publications and 16 preliminary results, including the first 13 TeV measurements and combinations of results between ATLAS, its LHC counterpart CMS, and the Tevatron collider at Fermilab. nominator citation

- 30 -