2012 Medal Winners | francais

The 2012 CAP/DCMMP Brockhouse Medal

is awarded to

Douglas Bonn

"This award is a welcome honour and one that I particularly treasure because I still have wonderful memories of my overlap with Bertram Brockhouse when I was a student at McMaster. He had an early influence on me through his teaching in a second year laboratory and my upbringing as an experimentalist occurred in the materials institute that now bears his name." winner citation

The Canadian Association of Physicists (CAP) is pleased to announce that the 2012 CAP/DCMMP Brockhouse Medal is awarded to Douglas Bonn, University of British Columbia, in recognition of for his contributions to the field of high temperature superconductivity. announcement

Douglas Bonn’s research has focused primarily on high temperature superconductors since their discovery in 1987. Currently, this research on superconductors is equally divided between microwave and transport measurements, and sample development and preparation for a wide range of external collaborations. His work on microwave properties is in collaboration with Walter Hardy, while the work on sample preparation is performed in collaboration with Ruixing Liang. For many years Doug has been strongly involved in promoting collaborations as a means of enhancing the Canadian effort in high temperature superconductivity. The exchange of samples and ideas between the group at UBC and those at McMaster University, University of Toronto, McGill University, Université de Sherbrooke, Simon Fraser University, and many institutions outside of Canada have greatly enhanced the productivity and visibility of Canadian research in this field. In these collaborations, Doug has been intimately involved in the tailoring of samples to the particular measurement, including far-infrared, SR, ARPES and scanning magnetic microscopy, and in the interpretation of the experimental results. He has published over 170 refereed papers, and presented many invited lectures around the world. Doug is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, a Fellow of the American Physical Society, and an Associate of the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research. He has won a number of prizes including the an Alfred P. Sloan Fellowship in 1996, the CAP Herzberg Medal in 1997, an E.W.R. Steacie Fellowship and a UBC Killam Research Prize in 1999, and the UBC McDowell Medal in 2001. In 2006, the team of Bonn, Hardy and Liang was awarded the NSERC Brockhouse Canada Prize. nominator citation

- 30 -