2020 CAP Lecture Tour Schedule

The CAP 2020 Lecture Tour will take place from February through April at participating physics departments across Canada. Confirmed speakers and event dates are shown in the table, which will be updated as the schedule is finalized. Click on the titles below to see the abstract and biographical notes. Please note that the table can be sorted by clicking on the column headers



Date Location of talk Speaker Title
Sun, 02-Feb-2020Memorial UniversityProf. Gregory R. SivakoffWinds of Change around Black Holes
Tue, 04-Feb-2020Saint Mary's UniversityProf. Gregory R. SivakoffWinds of Change around Black Holes
Wed, 05-Feb-2020Acadia UniversityProf. Gregory R. SivakoffWinds of Change around Black Holes
Thu, 06-Feb-2020St. Francis Xavier UniversityProf. Gregory R. SivakoffWinds of Change around Black Holes
Fri, 07-Feb-2020Univ. of Prince Edward IslandProf. Gregory R. SivakoffWinds of Change around Black Holes
Tue, 11-Feb-2020University of LethbridgeProf. Marie-Cécile PiroDark matter: The hunt for the unknown
Tue, 25-Feb-2020University of Northern British ColumbiaDr. Kris PoduskaHow physics helps to simulate a search for life on Mars
Thu, 27-Feb-2020Okanagan College - VernonDr. Kris PoduskaHow physics helps to simulate a search for life on Mars
Thu, 27-Feb-2020Okanagan College - KelownaDr. Kris PoduskaHow physics helps to simulate a search for life on Mars
Mon, 02-Mar-2020University of British ColumbiaProf. Gregory R. SivakoffWinds of Change around Black Holes
Wed, 04-Mar-2020McMaster UniversityProf. Christopher BergevinExploring the Mysteries of Tuvan Throat Singing
Wed, 04-Mar-2020University of British Columbia - OkanaganProf. Gregory R. SivakoffWinds of Change around Black Holes
Thu, 05-Mar-2020University of VictoriaProf. Gregory R. SivakoffWinds of Change around Black Holes
Fri, 06-Mar-2020University of British ColumbiaProf. Gregory R. SivakoffWinds of Change around Black Holes
Wed, 11-Mar-2020University of AlbertaMs. Allison MacDonaldQuantum computing, quantum annealing and quantum simulation
Thu, 12-Mar-2020University of CalgaryMs. Allison MacDonaldQuantum computing, quantum annealing and quantum simulation
Thu, 12-Mar-2020Kwantlen Polytechnic UniversityDr. Camille Bélanger-ChampagneQu’arrive-t-il aux composantes électroniques dans les champs de radiation (plus ou moins) extrêmes?
Fri, 13-Mar-2020Brandon UniversityProf. Marie-Cécile PiroDark matter: The hunt for the unknown
Mon, 16-Mar-2020University of ManitobaDr. Aaron SlepkovMicrowave grape plasma and the shape of water
Tue, 17-Mar-2020Trinity Western UniversityDr. Kris PoduskaHow physics helps to simulate a search for life on Mars
Tue, 17-Mar-2020University of WindsorProf. Al-Amin DhiraniNanostructures - building blocks for designer materials exhibiting exotic quantum behaviour
Thu, 19-Mar-2020University of Western OntarioProf. Al-Amin DhiraniNanostructures - building blocks for designer materials exhibiting exotic quantum behaviour
Fri, 20-Mar-2020University of the Fraser ValleyDr. Camille Bélanger-ChampagneQu’arrive-t-il aux composantes électroniques dans les champs de radiation (plus ou moins) extrêmes?
Mon, 23-Mar-2020University of SaskatchewanProf. Marie-Cécile PiroDark matter: The hunt for the unknown
Mon, 23-Mar-2020University of Ontario Institute of TechnologyMs. Allison MacDonaldQuantum computing, quantum annealing and quantum simulation
Tue, 24-Mar-2020York UniversityMs. Allison MacDonaldQuantum computing, quantum annealing and quantum simulation
Wed, 25-Mar-2020University of TorontoMs. Allison MacDonaldQuantum computing, quantum annealing and quantum simulation
Thu, 26-Mar-2020Thompson Rivers UniversityDr. Camille Bélanger-ChampagneQu’arrive-t-il aux composantes électroniques dans les champs de radiation (plus ou moins) extrêmes?
Mon, 30-Mar-2020Lakehead UniversityProf. Marie-Cécile PiroDark matter: The hunt for the unknown
Mon, 30-Mar-2020Mount Allison UniversityDr. Kris PoduskaHow physics helps to simulate a search for life on Mars
Tue, 31-Mar-2020University of New BrunswickDr. Kris PoduskaHow physics helps to simulate a search for life on Mars
Wed, 30-Sep-2020Université de MonctonDr. Kris PoduskaHow physics helps to simulate a search for life on Mars
Fri, 06-Nov-2020University of WinnipegDr. Aaron SlepkovMicrowave grape plasma and the shape of water
Fri, 13-Nov-2020Université de MontréalDr. Gary SlaterQui vous a fait croire que la diffusion était un sujet de recherche dépassé? Diffusion diffusive, diffusion anormale, vieillissement et autres surprises.
Fri, 13-Nov-2020Université de MontréalDr. Gary SlaterWho told you that diffusion was a dead field of investigation? Diffusing diffusivity, anomalous diffusion, aging and other surprises.
Mon, 16-Nov-2020Université de SherbrookeDr. Gary SlaterQui vous a fait croire que la diffusion était un sujet de recherche dépassé? Diffusion diffusive, diffusion anormale, vieillissement et autres surprises.
Mon, 16-Nov-2020Université de SherbrookeDr. Gary SlaterWho told you that diffusion was a dead field of investigation? Diffusing diffusivity, anomalous diffusion, aging and other surprises.
Fri, 27-Nov-2020University of ReginaProf. Marie-Cécile PiroDark matter: The hunt for the unknown
TBATBAProf. Daniel F. V. JamesQuantum Science and Technology in Canada and beyond
TBATBAProf. Kent MooreTaking the Earth’s temperature: The Physics of Climate Change
TBATBAProf. Marie-Cécile PiroDark matter: The hunt for the unknown
TBATBADr. Kris PoduskaHow physics helps to simulate a search for life on Mars
TBATBADr. Kris PoduskaHow physics helps to simulate a search for life on Mars
TBATBAMs. Allison MacDonaldQuantum computing, quantum annealing and quantum simulation
TBASimon Fraser UniversityProf. Gregory R. SivakoffWinds of Change around Black Holes